top of page

Upcoming Events

At least once a month we offer continuing education programming that covers the topics that really matter, such as cultivating cultural responsiveness in your practice and how to take care of yourself in ways that actually work.

MON, FEB 26 | WEBINAR

Stop Breaking Bad News, Start Sharing Serious Information

Exploring goals of care is one of the foundational skills of palliative care teams. Having these conversations can center patient preference, and experience, and give voice to patients' self-defined parameters for living well with illness. Initiating these conversations gives opportunity to clinicians of multiple specialties to help share information, follow the patient's lead in determining the meaning of that information, and shape goal-directed plans of care. "Bad news" projects meaning and centers the health care team. "Serious news" invites us to meet patients and families where they are. 

1PM EST | 10AM PST

Free for SWHPN Members | $45 for Non-Members

FRI, MAR 8 | WEBINAR

Social workers, chaplains and counselors are frequently the first ones to be called at a time of crisis. Responding to a suicide, homicide, accidents and sudden death can be a daunting experience. Join us as we  identify four goals of crisis intervention, explore the three challenging behavioral responses at a time of crisis, discuss factors that lead to caregiver burnout and identify a strategy for personal and professional survival.

 

12PM EST | 9AM PST

$30 for SWHPN Members | $45 for Non-Members

WED, MARCH 13  | EVENTS

Special Inter-Professional Event: Notes From The Outside

ENHANCING BEDSIDE + CLINIC CARE WITH COMMUNITY-BASED WISDOM

 

Delve into the dynamic intersection of community-based counseling and health care with special guests BJ Miller, M.D. and Abigail Nathanson, LCSW, DSW,  as we explore key themes and valuable clinical insights gleaned from outside the healthcare system that can transform your clinical practice within it. 

All members of the inter-professional care team are encouraged to attend.

2PM EST | 11AM PST

$30 for SWHPN Members | $45 for Non-Members

VIRTUAL SUMMITS

Next Virtual half-day Conference

SWHPN Virtual Summits are half-day conferences  specifically designed for hospice + palliative care social workers and clinicians. These longer offerings are a chance to take a break from work, go deep on a theme and make new connections.

NEXT SUMMIT: JUNE 2024

More details coming soon

bottom of page